Let’s the Power of the Universe flow through you

Did you know that the life force of the universe flows within you? Long before, modern science and medicine came into existence, ancient Hindu sadhus and yogis understood that the all living things carried the life’s force within them.

This energy was concentrated in 7 chakras within the human body and held the secrets to a healthy and gratifying life.

What is the Chakra?

The word “Chakra” is an ancient Sanskrit word that means “wheel.” There are seven major “Wheels of Spinning Energy” (Prana energy centres) in the human body and over hundred minor ones. These seven energy centres start from the base of the spine and move all the way to the top of the head.

The Significance of the Chakras

In a mentally and physically, healthy and balanced person, the seven major chakras provide the optimum energy to the body, mind, and spirit. However, if anyone of these chakras spins too fast or too slow, it impacts the overall health.

By understanding the role of the chakras, one can learn the art of balancing them to lead a healthy, successful and harmonious life.

The Seven Chakras in the Human Body

Here’s a quick summary of all the seven chakras, their location and the emotional issues they are responsible for.

  1. Root Chakra – At the base of the spine, near the tailbone (Red Disc)

Known as the “Muladhara” in Sanskrit, the root chakra governs one’s survival needs. When the root chakra is balanced, and energy flows freely through it, a person feels confident and secure. An imbalance of this chakra leads to anxiousness, worries, and fear.

  1. Creativity Chakra – Two finger widths below the navel (Orange Disc)

This is the sacral chakra and is connected with one’s desires, creativity, and sexual drive. An overactive sacral chakra can make a person feel incessantly worried and possessive, whereas an inactive chakra can make a person feel introverted or have a low sexual drive. This chakra (Svadishtana in Sanskrit) helps you enjoy life with passion.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra – Between the navel and rib cage (Yellow Disc)

Commonly known as the gut feeling, this chakra helps you make the right decisions with confidence. When the chakra is imbalanced, it can lead to nervousness, frustrations which manifest in the form of stomach disorders. It is known as Manipura in Sanskrit.

  1. Heart Chakra – In the centre of your chest (Green Disc)

Known as Anahata in Sanskrit, this chakra represents love, compassion, and joy. A balanced heart chakra helps you overcome any past hurts, whereas an overactive chakra leads to feelings of resentment, anger, and jealousy. On the other hand, an inactive chakra leads to feeling unloved and pessimistic about one’s prospects in life.

  1. Throat Chakra – At the base of the throat (Blue Disc)

Known as Visshuddha in Sanskrit, this chakra is the centre of all communication. When it’s balanced, you’re able to express your thoughts with clarity. An overactive chakra means you end up being aggressive in your conversations with others, whereas an inactive chakra leads to an inability to speak what’s on your mind.

  1. Third Eye Chakra – Between the eyebrows (Indigo Disc)

Known as Ajna, this chakra deals with clairvoyance. An overactive chakra can lead to too much worry and painful headaches, while an underactive chakra can make you feel scared with your decisions. The full opening of this chakra connects one with one’s real purpose in life.

  1. Crown Chakra – At the top of the head (Violet Disc)

Known as the Dahaswara, this chakra connects you with your higher (spiritual) self. When this chakra is balanced, positive energy enters your body, making you feel energized and refreshed. When this chakra is imbalanced, it could lead to feelings of unhappiness, depression, disconnectedness, and staleness.

Why Balancing Chakras Matters?

Consider the chakras as your body’s batteries. Just like you recharge your mobile phone’s batteries overnight, you have to reload and balance your chakras periodically with the stream of cosmic energy in the atmosphere.

When your chakras are balanced, you restore the flow of energy in your body. It makes you feel relaxed, at peace with yourself and the universe and frees you from illnesses.

Powerful Ways to Heal, Cleanse and Balance your Chakras

  1. Meditation

Meditation is one of the best ways to balance your chakras as it transports you to a state of pure awareness, where you can focus on your body’s energy centres. If you’re new to meditation, start with guided meditation, with the assistance of an expert.

  1. Massage

Massage is another commonly used technique for chakra healing. Different massages work to activate and balance various chakras. For instance, a scalp massage opens the crown chakra, while abdominal massage helps to align the solar plexus chakra.

  1. Chromotherapy

As each chakra is associated with a particular colour, chromotherapy is quite effective in balancing the chakras. During this therapy, colours are introduced through food, solarised solids and liquids and lights to align and balance the seven chakras.

  1. Professional Energy Healers

They examine a person’s energy centres and locate the causes of blockages. By using healing techniques like Reiki, they can balance one’s chakras.

  1. Chakra Stones

These healing crystals have specific colours and vibrations and are used along with massage therapy to heal and align chakras.

  1. Yoga & Pranayama

When a chakra is imbalanced, certain yoga postures (especially kundalini yoga) are highly beneficial in releasing the energy force using movement. Yoga is effective in eliminating stagnant energy from the body, helping in the flow of vital and fresh energy. Yoga asanas along with deep breathing techniques (Pranayama) are highly effective in balancing the chakras.

  1. Essential Oils

Used with massage techniques, essential oils are an integral part of chakra healing.

Activate your Chakras and Live Life to the Fullest!